null Skip to main content

Evolve or Die: Hard-Won Lessons from a Hockey Life

John Shannon

Share:

Evolve or Die: Hard-Won Lessons from a Hockey Life

Signed by:

Autographed Hardcover Bookplated Edition
This Includes - Hardcover Edition of "Evolve or Die"
This Includes - John Shannon's Personal Autograph on Bookplate Inside Book
This Includes - Certificate of Authenticity
$35.00
This is a pre-order product. Please allow 1-2 weeks of handling time after the 10/25/2022 release for the author to sign the books.

This Hardcover Edition of John Shannon's Evolve or Die: Hard-Won Lessons from a Hockey Life is autographed on bookplate by John Shannon.

For fans of Michael McKinley’s Hockey: A People’s History and Bob Cole’s Now I’m Catching On—a book about what’s changed in hockey, what never should, and a celebration of what we love about the game, from the broadcaster, analyst, and longtime executive producer of Hockey Night in Canada, John Shannon. For decades, Hockey Night in Canada has been the gold standard not just for hockey broadcasts, but for all sports across North America. It shows the stories of the game: on-ice heroics, the love and support of family, small-town values, and big-city lights. Meet the person who shaped that standard. John Shannon was the longtime executive producer of Hockey Night in Canada, starting at the bottom and working his way up through the 1980s and 1990s. He has a unique view of the game and how the way we enjoy it has developed. Technology plays a role, but it’s about the storytelling—modern-day gladiators and their trials—and hockey provides endless good stories. Shannon’s world behind the scenes is every bit as colourful and unexpected as what happens on the ice—and just as full of rich characters. From standing up to the Edmonton Oilers’ mighty Glen Sather to ordering then Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau to keep out of a dressing room, these stories illuminate the big moments and people that have made the game special. Shannon captures a nostalgia for the great broadcasts of the past—complete with baby blue Hockey Night in Canada blazers—and a pride in how far we’ve come in improving the game and expanding on the stories we tell. He also shares the keys to a long and successful career: integrity, loyalty, determination, and above all passion. Much has changed in the sport and how we enjoy it, but Shannon’s career shows that some things must always remain.

Get your John Shannon autographed book today!

Product Details

  • Pages: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Release Date: October 25, 2022
  • ISBN-13: 9781982169015
  • Edition: Autographed Hardcover Bookplated Edition

About The Author

John Shannon is a Canadian sportscaster, television producer, and former panelist on Rogers Sportsnets Hockey Central. He's known for producingHockey Night in Canada, including Coach's Corner and the Satellite Hot Stove. In 2003, he won a Sports Emmy Award for Outstanding Live Sports Special for his work on NBCs broadcast of the XIX Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City. 

Product Details

This Hardcover Edition of John Shannon's Evolve or Die: Hard-Won Lessons from a Hockey Life is autographed on bookplate by John Shannon.

For fans of Michael McKinley’s Hockey: A People’s History and Bob Cole’s Now I’m Catching On—a book about what’s changed in hockey, what never should, and a celebration of what we love about the game, from the broadcaster, analyst, and longtime executive producer of Hockey Night in Canada, John Shannon. For decades, Hockey Night in Canada has been the gold standard not just for hockey broadcasts, but for all sports across North America. It shows the stories of the game: on-ice heroics, the love and support of family, small-town values, and big-city lights. Meet the person who shaped that standard. John Shannon was the longtime executive producer of Hockey Night in Canada, starting at the bottom and working his way up through the 1980s and 1990s. He has a unique view of the game and how the way we enjoy it has developed. Technology plays a role, but it’s about the storytelling—modern-day gladiators and their trials—and hockey provides endless good stories. Shannon’s world behind the scenes is every bit as colourful and unexpected as what happens on the ice—and just as full of rich characters. From standing up to the Edmonton Oilers’ mighty Glen Sather to ordering then Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau to keep out of a dressing room, these stories illuminate the big moments and people that have made the game special. Shannon captures a nostalgia for the great broadcasts of the past—complete with baby blue Hockey Night in Canada blazers—and a pride in how far we’ve come in improving the game and expanding on the stories we tell. He also shares the keys to a long and successful career: integrity, loyalty, determination, and above all passion. Much has changed in the sport and how we enjoy it, but Shannon’s career shows that some things must always remain.

Get your John Shannon autographed book today!

Product Details

  • Pages: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Release Date: October 25, 2022
  • ISBN-13: 9781982169015
  • Edition: Autographed Hardcover Bookplated Edition

About The Author

John Shannon is a Canadian sportscaster, television producer, and former panelist on Rogers Sportsnets Hockey Central. He's known for producingHockey Night in Canada, including Coach's Corner and the Satellite Hot Stove. In 2003, he won a Sports Emmy Award for Outstanding Live Sports Special for his work on NBCs broadcast of the XIX Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City. 

Weight:
16.00 Ounces
About the Author

John Shannon is a Canadian sportscaster, television producer, and former panelist on Rogers Sportsnets Hockey Central. He's known for producingHockey Night in Canada, including Coach's Corner and the Satellite Hot Stove. In 2003, he won a Sports Emmy Award for Outstanding Live Sports Special for his work on NBCs broadcast of the XIX Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City.